Muses vol. 1: Domoto Tsuyoshi

One type of post that I’ve really wanted to do is a weekly “muses” kind of thing. Basically a post each week on a person (or something!) that has inspired me in some way or has had a big impact on my life in general.

For my first post, I thought, “who better than my single biggest inspiration of all time?”

Domoto Tsuyoshi!

My intense respect and admiration for Domoto Tsuyoshi started back in 2006, while I was studying abroad in Japan. I was walking around in Shibuya an happened to see the latest KinKi Kids (the duo he’s a part of with Domoto Koichi (no relation)) music video, Natsu Moyou, on a huge screen on the outside of the Tower Records building. I was instantly mesmerized! Not attracted or anything. Just mesmerized.

From then on, I became a super fan. I found out that Tsuyoshi also had many solo projects and I dedicated hours and hours of time and hundreds (maybe thousands?) of dollars on Tsuyoshi’s and KinKi Kids’ CDs, DVDs, and magazines! For YEARS!

Aside from a unique and expressive voice, he’s known for his interesting and sometimes outlandish clothes. He’s a fashion icon in Japan that draws attention both negative and positive. So HERE YA GO. SOME PICS ALRIGHT.





He’s a truly beautiful soul– very spiritual and thoughtful. He’s fought through intense mental health issues and a lot of outside adversity from anti-fans, and is still un-jaded and gentle. He’s really actually my hero.

4 thoughts on “Muses vol. 1: Domoto Tsuyoshi

  1. Wow. If there’s something I admire in a person, it’s the strength to be who you want to be without fear of judgement, able to rise above negativity and create a beautiful life. I am excited to see more of your inspirations ^_^

    • I totally agree! As a young person, I was weird, but also a coward. I was so afraid of what people thought, that I neither tried to improve myself, nor embrace my strangeness. Tsuyoshi inspires me to do both!

      And thank you! I’ve got a few lined up so far! :>

Leave a Reply

