Bloosh.

As you know, I often claim to be a huge curmudgeon. I am. I love rules and structure and board games and I’m not a ~free spirit~ at. all.

And yet, there are still times where, as a blogger (if I can even call myself that), I try to shoehorn myself into that role. I feel a compulsion to conform to that flower-crown-wearing, wanderlust-quoting, easy breezy persona. That’s what gets views and comments, right? And not that there’s anything wrong with it, but it’s just not me at all!Β And I’m never more convinced of that than after watching last week’s episode of Parks and Recreation.

Β (The header of the fictional website)

In the episode, a lifestyle blogger named Annabel Porter, decides Ron’s chair is the new “must-have item of the season.” You can really recognize the blogs that they were spoofing and it came off as so pretentious and fake to the point that I recoiled! I’m not saying the blogs being spoofed are fake, but I know if I were to try to emulate them, Β I would look just as fabricated as the Annabel Porter character!

So one of my major goals is to steer away from the feeling that I have to be that, and blog about myself! So what the hell am I like? That’s the big question isn’t it? With all that in mind, I’m making a list of things that I actually love and know something about:

1.) Comics

I’m sure you knew about this! I talk about my love of comics pretty frequently, but never actually go into specifics! The truth is, I love superhero comics as well as indie comics and my collection was so big, that I couldn’t even haul it all to Pittsburgh with me! Maybe I’ll start posting about my comics hauls!

Oh, I also draw comics. There IS that!

2.) Cartoons

Ahhh, cartoons, my love! I just love a really great, thoughtful, creative kid’s show. Oh my goodness. My main love right now is Adventure Time, of course! I could write BOOKS on Adventure Time, I think it’s so poignant. But I’m also really into 90’s and early 2000’s Nicktoons and Cartoon Cartoons.

3.) Pittsburgh

I think Sharon Needles said it best when she said, “I live in Pittsburgh because it’s as dilapidated, poor, and dirty as me!” It’s true; Pittsburgh is dingy as hell. It’s cloudy and gruff, but it’s also filled with proud, passionate people and beautiful architecture. I think I should flex my tiny photography muscles and try to capture it more!

4.) Workin’ at the Library

So yup I work at the library and am working my way to becoming a real librarian. I always find it cute how people think working in the library is such a peaceful job. Ohhhh myyyyy nope! Can’t wait to write about some misadventures, police calls, heartwarming stories, and wacky old incorrect non-fiction I find on the shelf.

5.) Very Fleeting, Intense Interest

I’m not the type of person who really really follows through with her big ideas. Usually because my interests are so intense, but so so brief. I once spent about two weeks learning Dutch in every spare moment, just to move on to something else without remorse. I’d love to chronicle those intense bursts of motivation here. Who knows– maybe I’ll actually follow through with something!

So yeah– expect to see way more content coming up that’s way more me! No more feeling pressured. If I’m gonna do this, I can’t pretend I’m a domestic forest sprite. I gotta be the nerdy boner-kill, foul-mouthed grump that I am!

10 thoughts on “Bloosh.

  1. I love this post. Like you said, it’s so easy to fall into that ‘other blogs are like this, I’d better blog like that too’ mindset. I for one would love to read all about what makes you tick, and you’ve given me a lot to think about when it comes to my own blog.

    • Thanks! It’s something I’ve been thinking about since I started blogging. I love blogging and always have, but I don’t want to see myself trying to force a persona that isn’t me just for views, ya know?

  2. Agreed! I think it’s easy to think, “I should write about this, because bloggers are supposed to write about this, but usually the blogs that are about “the must have chairs of the season” or whatever, are not the ones I am drawn back to. I try and keep that in mind whenever I write a blog post.

    • I feel exactly the same way! I find myself more drawn to people who seem really genuinely interested in what they’re posting about, rather than just, “here’s a tutoral. or here’s who we’re working with on our brand.” I feel like, “who are you as a person, though?!” So I definitely feel like just “being one’s self” is the best way to go!

    • Haha, thanks! It’s one thing if you’re truly interested in being that easy breezey type of girl– but it’s just not me. Can’t do it. From now on, I’m just gonna blog what I know and love!

  3. Love love love this post! I’m a pretty new blogger and it is really hard to stay true to ‘you’ and make your blog a reflection of that. Thanks so much for sharing this!! Also–I TOTALLY relate with that ‘sudden bursts of interest’ thing. I did the same thing, only it was with Italian. Bahaha.

    • It’s SO hard! And really easy to get discouraged– especially when some blogs get SO many views even when they feel really impersonal. But it’s always best to stay true to yourself, and eventually people will be drawn to that.

      And yay! Sudden-burst-of-interest twins!

Leave a Reply

