Librarians aint nothin’ but mammals.

Last night was the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh winter party! I was so sad that I’d missed it last year because I was too new to the system, but I got to go this time and it was a blast! Really great turn-out with around 200 or 300 or so people there (not to mention, it was catered by local favorite Mad Mex)! At let me tell you. Librarians love to party.

I know what you’re thinking. Aren’t librarians something like this:

Well, nope! Librarians now-a-days are mostly young alternative folks. You’re more likely to find someone with dreads and a septum piercing or a 30-something male children’s librarian who loves surfing than an older lady now-a-days. I feel out of place because I DON’T have a tattoo or unnatural hair color (hopefully both of those things will change soon!).

And they LOVE a party. Especially if it’s a gathering of librarians. Let’s just say, I think a few people found a way to bypass the two drink tickets they were issued at the door. Case in point, a video from last night:

6 thoughts on “Librarians aint nothin’ but mammals.

  1. I honestly wonder how much of an influence “Party Girl” had on librarian recruiting. I know so many librarians these days, and they’re all super-rad “alternative” types, at least one of whom cited “Party Girl” as her reason for taking up the library arts.

    • HAHA! Could be!! I only realized about two years ago that I wanted to be a librarian thanks my first library job and an awesome book called, “This Book is Overdue!” But Party Girl isn’t a bad reason either! ;D

  2. “Well, some of us are cannibals”. This was a Shady inspired quote right…? If not ignore that part, haha.

    I love this post! I recently really wanted to be a librarian now that a septum piercing is acceptable in that work force. Also, just to say I’m a librarian. XD
    You’re a natural red head correct? DO NOT DYE YOUR HAIR MISS!! I made that mistake.
    -_-
    You’ll never get enough compliments on your hair like us gingers do. c;

    <3
    Harlynn
    http://www.mindyourmadness.blogspot.com

    • Actually, it was inspired by “The Bad Touch” by the Bloodhound Gang, which is what those librarians at the party are karaoke-ing in that video I posted, haha!

      Personally, I think EVERYONE should want to be a librarian! It’s the raddest job around! And you can basically look however you want! I’m one of the few without a full sleeve of tattoos in the system!

      And I’m not a natural redhead :( I’ve been dying it this color for about 5 or 6 years now, though, so in my heart I’m a redhead (I’m naturally dark blonde/light brown). I just figured it would be nice to switch it up, just once while I’m still young enough to pull it off!

  3. That. Looks. AWESOME! I think it is beyond cool that librarians are so diverse and you’re not limited in how you can express yourself, I’ve found that in America a lot of employers aren’t keen to hire if you look a certain way (tattoos & piercings etc), it’s not so bad in England but it’s getting that way. Totes rad.

    • Yeah, it’s really nice to find a workplace that encourages diversity and alternative lifestyles. You’re right that America is pretty conservative when it comes to acceptance of how people choose to adorn themselves :/ It seems to be changing little by little, though, luckily.

Leave a Reply

